1. Here goes Nothing..

Well, here it goes….

I’m about to embark on a journey that I’m not even sure I can do! See, cooking has always been this back burner (cooking joke!)  hobby of mine, like most people. You know, I’d cook for family and friends; a little here and there, get some compliments (mmm, this is so good Dan!) and used it as a great conversation starter for those few dates I went on. I even auditioned for a few reality cooking shows and made it past the initial rounds! 

It got me thinking…  (which sometimes is a dangerous thing, but not here).. Should this just be a hobby or should I take it further?? Well.. 

1. It brings me joy joy unspeakable joy! Cooking really does. Truly! Despite the grueling effort sometimes required to put a dish together, I’d rather cook than do most easier tasks like.. uh emptying the garbage.

It’s exciting seeing things come together;  a food idea, then a picture in your head, to ingredients sprawled on the counter to       cooking to the plated dish!

2. I’ve been cooking for years, since probably 10 years old helping my mom and dad and now I’m way past age 10, so I have experience?

3. I’m an awesome cook, just ask my friends. I’m sure up to now, I sounded like a Food Network Worst Cook in America candidate..          “I’ve been cooking since I was 10 and i love it, but I might burn your kitchen down in the process since I’m actually not that good at it”. HaHa. I really think I have a budding talent that needs to honed and perfected!

4. If there’s any time to jump into something without thinking, it’s when you’re young. If it doesn’t work, you still have time to clean up and get on to the next!

Here’s what I want to do:  Start a food truck or restaurant or catering company or even work in restaurant as a cook.. something to do with food! Somewhere in this great nation!

BUT BUT BUT, like anything, you wanna make sure your not jumping off a cliff without any gear right? (bad example I know, but you get the idea.. )  I need to make sure that my menu I just created, from the creativeness of my culinary mind can be executed properly, hence the title of this blog: Test Kitchen. That’s what I’m out to do and you can help by trying out the food I cook and give me confidence that I’m not going crazy!

Until next time.. Post good comments and tell your friends to read this!

7 thoughts on “1. Here goes Nothing..

  1. Pingback: 1. Here goes Nothing.. | The Test Kitchen Minneapolis

  2. i am new here but i love to cook and am curious about this site and have read what is here so far and want to read more

    • Thanks Fran,

      I deeply appreciate your nice comment! Be sure to sign up for email updates when I post a new blog (lower right side of the screen; the “follow” button) and share with your friends!

  3. Cooking really does bring me joy. There is something really spiritual about it. Keep blogging and trying out new things. If your blog reaches a niche you could have your food truck sponsored or bought for you! Best of luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

